Painting inner frames

Hi, I’m new to gunpla and I come to this forum to learn. Want to hand paint my MG Shenlong Gundam’s inner frame and I have Tamiya paint jars. Was wondering do I have to sand the inner frames first or just paint it right away. Or maybe sand it and apply primer which I don’t have right now. I’m planning to paint it with black with matte finish. Also will paint some of the tiny details as well. Which would work best. Hand brush paint or spray paint?

Depending on how many layers of paint your use, will depend on the prep work needed. If you’re just doing one layer, then some light sanding on the joints might be required. I didn’t do any sanding on my MG Kampfer, and the joints are very tight, but it has primer, paint, and top coat on it. If you’re doing it black, I don’t think you will need to primer it unless you just want to. I also think that spray painting would be a better route cause it could prevent pooling and you’ll achieve a much more uniform finish.

Also, what type of paint are you using?

If you’re only painting small details, sanding isn’t necessary. If you’re painting the entire thing, you should definitely sand or prime it.

I have Tamiya acrylic paint. I’m painting the entire inner frames. Once I’m done with the inner frames I painting the rest of then kit with candy finish or metallic look.

Are you spraying the outer armor? You’ll have to be careful about sanding, candies and metallics are horrible for pointing out surface imperfections. I’m used to painting cars, I work in a body shop.

As someone who airbrushed flat black on an inner frame, I would say it’s not a good idea because flat black acrylic is thick when dry. You’ll encounter friction problems when putting in armor and in the joints so masking those areas is a good idea.