Help with Vallejo Paints

Hi All!

I’ve been building models for 35 years and have used Vallejo since it was really first available in the States.

Now to the problem…I’ve been airbrushing the joints on my kits with primer and then Mecha Dark Steel. Once I get the parts assembled such as the thigh and calf, when I then position that leg, the armor scrapes away the Dark Steel I put on the joint.

Are there any tips or tricks to prevent this without switching paints? I can’t use anything overly toxic since my 10 year old daughter builds at the same time I do.

Thanks!!

1 Like

Welcome to the forum!

Sadly, I’m not as knowledgeable on model building as some of the others here (I only have the very bare basics at my disposal ffff), but I’ll try to help in the meantime! Could it be that the paint isn’t properly attaching itself to the plastic? I wonder if there’s some sort of trick to apply a finish to it, like how using hairspray on pencil sketches keeps the art from fading and getting smudged.

Also, it’s absolutely precious that you and your daughter build together, makes me wish I had started way earlier. :sob: I’m sure we’d all love to see what you’ve built!

The primer seems fine. I’m wondering if I’ve let the Dark Steel build up to much when airbrushing.

As for things I’ve built, nothing has been painted (some what sacrilegious to me) so I think I’ll post my first painted one :smiley:

Have you put a top coat over the dark steel?

If you want gloss you can use Pledge/Future floor polish right out of the bottle and it’ll give it a nice protective gloss coat. If you don’t want gloss you can add a flatting agent to it as well.

I have not. Would that prevent the armor plate from chipping the steel when the joint is moved?