Dried out markers for panel lining, need advice please.

Hi Everyone,

I am really new to building gunpla and just finished (almost) my first RG model. It’s an aile strike. But anyway as I was panel lining with my pens they went really dry and would not produce ink. I used a micron 005 pen and 03 lepen pen. This happened quickly the first time I used them. These pens came highly recommended from other websites, so they should work well. I think I am doing something wrong to make them dry up really quick. I was wondering if you could give me some tips on how to prevent this in the future because I am not sure what I am doing wrong.

Trouble shooting I have done, thought about.

I don’t think I am pressing way too hard because the tip still looks in good shape, I was wondering if I you sometimes can’t see the damage.
I tried soaking them in water for a little bit. Didn’t work.
Tried the same thing with rubbing alcohol. Didn’t work. (Not sure if it was isopropyl or ethyl based though)
I let them sit for multiple days ink side down. Again didn’t work.
I accidently ruined the micron pen trying to check the ink on it, but it did have sufficient ink.

So I was wondering if you guys had any tips for not drying out your pens, fixing them once they are, or better panel lining etiquette? Please and thank you

Welcome to the boards! The problem might have been caused by two a few things:

1. The nib dried out.

The nib dries out if you leave it uncapped for too long. If you did a long lining session, this may be the case.

1. You bent the nib.

If you press at the wrong angle, the nib can sometimes get bent and appear to be dried out. This is unlikely to have happened to your pen.

1. It clogged from dust and other particulates.

Sometimes, the nib can clog from dust and other things. Again, this is probably not the case.

If the pen dries out, has a bent nib, or is cloggedd, there is no fix.