Welcome to the Gundam Forums.

Advice on gunpla for kids

Hello all. First time poster here. Stumbled into a toyshop while holidaying in asia recently and picked up a couple of SD gunplas for my 8yo and 6yo kids. They totally loved it. I then picked up a couple of HG models , sinanju for my 8 yo and unicorn destroyer mode for the 6yo on amazon after i got home. They completed them over the weekend unassisted ( the 8 yo made a mess of the gold stickers with his sinanju and the 6 yo made a couple of mistakes with orientation and came to me to correct it for him) .
    My question is, what should i get them to build next. The 8yo is keen on trying a MG ( should he? Or a RG? ) What do u guys recommend that is sort of at their level and that is sturdy that can take a bit of abuse (since they play them like action figures)
    I am a gunpla noob having just started reading on internet since my kids started showing interest in it so any advice is appreciated (i did however ordered a MK ii RG with recent reading for myself to try out haha)

Thanks in advance guys

Re: Advice on gunpla for kids

I would not give a Real Grade to an eight year old. The inner frame, while solid when put together, can be fragile if you're not careful. Nor would I give an eight year old a Master Grade. There are a lot of small parts that go into Master Grades (older ones are big offenders as some of them have metal screws), and those could get lost or, worst case scenario, break if one is not careful. Both of those grades are meant older, more experienced builders who know what they are doing, and have the precision and skill on handling delicate and small parts. For now, have them stick with Super Deformed and High Grade kits.
    "You see, there's no need to wonder where your god is. Because he's right here! And he's fresh out of mercy!"
    -Kirito (SAO Abridged)

"Well, what good is being a god if you can't smite some people?"
    - Epsilon Church

Super Moderator