Welcome to the Gundam Forums.

Coming from a Warhammer background... have some questions

Hey all,

For the past couple of years, I've been a hobbyist in the Warhammer world. I've only played a few games, but I've spent countless hours over the past two years modeling (assembling) and painting models for both Warhammer 40,000 and Warhammer: Age of Sigmar. I have built one HG Astaroth kit already (haven't painted it), am working on an HG Barbatos, and have an HG Zedas R being delivered today.

All that said, I have noticed that the assembling/modeling part of Warhammer Push Together models and Gundam kits are very similar. When you get into the more customizable Warhammer kits, it does get a bit different.

All that said, I'm not used to how Gundam modeling and painting work when compared to Warhammer. For example, with Warhammer models, I assemble them as much as is possible (including gluing all parts together with plastic glue) until they get to the point where further assembly would get in the way painting. Once primed, using plastic glue is no longer possible as it can mess up the primer and paint job. So, super glue is used instead.

With Gundam models, are all pieces painted separately and then reassembled as push together? Or are they assembled with plastic glue, primed, and then painted? As I mentioned before, it seems that assembly of Gundam models is very similar go Warhammer Push Together models. But, I think the painting process may be drastically different.

All that said, how do you all assemble and paint your custom models? Which method do you use?

Thanks in advance!

SG

Re: Coming from a Warhammer background... have some questions