Welcome to the Gundam Forums.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

My Gundam Experience; from Miniatures to Gunpla!

Hi Guys, I'm new to Gundam Modelling and Painting. My hobby is primarily table-top games, namely Kings of War, Warhammer 40K and WarmaHordes.

I'd like to share my experiences with painting Gundam models, specifically using Vallejo. Why only Vallejo you may ask? no special reason Those are the supplies I have from my miniatures hobby so I dont want to spend a lot on other painting supplies yet.

By no means am I a great painter , just a hobbyist. I went straight to painting gunpla, thinking its the same as miniatures painting; I had quite a few surprises. I'd like to share those surprises to those miniatures/tabletop hobbyists who'd like a hand in painting gundams.

Here's a few pics of my completed Hyakuren (not so good photos).

IMG_3605.jpgIMG_3607.jpgIMG_3608.jpgIMG_3611.jpg
    Last edited by AzraelGundam; October 23, 2016 at 10:24 PM.

Re: My Gundam Experience; from Miniatures to Gunpla!

Looks sharp, do you have problems with the consistency of the paint leaving brush marks, or do you use an airbrush?
    Oh well. What ever happens, happens.

What ever you're looking for, it's always in the last place you look.

Hi A_Lurker, I use paintbrushes. With vallejo paints I did have some problems with consistency of paints mainly with the Heavy Red paint. But googling around, I think this particular color has problems with coverage. For other paints, I think it was a re-learning on how to thin the paints correctly.

- - - Updated - - -

(I'll continue here, it says I cant attach more than 5 images in a single post)

First, I'd like to highlight key differences between miniatures and Gundam models as follows:

1. Size
    Off the bat, the biggest difference is the size between the models. This difference demands adjustments in just about every aspect of the painting process (more on that later).

IMG_3617.jpg