Welcome to the Gundam Forums.

Question MG Freedom 2.0 Hip Problem?

Hello. This is my first time on this site and I tried searching for a detailed answer to this problem but to no avail. So if I'm posting this in the wrong section or if I am asking something that has already been answered then, please, forgive me.

So, I've had the MG Freedom 2.0 kit in my possession for quite some time and I LOVE the way it looks so far. I have built the whole upper body (Head, Chest, Arms, and Shoulders) and I am about to build the waist. But I am just too nervous to due to hearing about those pegs that connect the legs to the waist BREAKING. Now, please bare in mind, I am a pretty basic Gunpla builder. I love the hobby very much and have built everything from SD kits to PG kits. But I don't customize much at all. Painting is as far as I go and even that is minimal. I just usually clean up my nub marks with a hobby knife and Gundam markers. That's as far as it goes. Not a beginner but not an expert. So how can I prevent these pegs on the Freedom 2.0 from breaking? I understand that I need to be careful with them. I got that part. But is there a way to maybe decrease the chance of breakage at all? I DID hear that you can sand down the pegs. I'm guessing that helps because it makes the pegs shorter and then there won't be as much stress being put on them? Just a guess.

Sorry about the long post but if you guys could just please help me out here with how to sand down those pegs (or whatever else you recommend) then that would be great. I have the supplies for sanding so I really just need to know how much to sand down. As you know, this is a rather expensive Master Grade kit. So I would like to keep it unbroken. Thanks!

Re: MG Freedom 2.0 Hip Problem?

This is the first time I've heard of this problem. Mine is currently sitting in it's box at the moment, but I'd say when you start builing that part and putting it together, take your time, don't rush it, and don't force it.