Welcome to the Gundam Forums.
Page 1 of 7 123456 ... LastLast

Shponglefan's WIP Log: Journey of a N00b

I'm somewhat new to Gunpla. I originally discover it about 10 years ago. I built a couple kits, started a couple more, then just stopped. Over the years I kept thinking I should just get rid of my Gunpla kits and supplies. Yet, the hording won out and here I am, 10 years later and trying to build again. In fact, this first kit I am showing is one of the original unfinished ones.

My main interest is learning how to paint model Gundams. I also paint miniatures and have a modest illustration background, so the painting side interests me more than the building side. In fact, I get a bit impatient trying to build them and I think that's what caused me to stop originally.

My plan is to experiment with painting techniques, shading, application of different theory, and so on. Not to mention develop my airbrushing skills. This WIP log should be useful to chronicle these experiments and keep a list of what works and what doesn't.

This first kit is a basic 1/144 RGM-79GS GM Command Space Type.

RGM-79GS_01.jpg

So far the I've primed everything (mostly) and am working on basecoating and initial shading. The waist area is only primed in these pics, but the legs and head have initial basecoats. I tried initially highlighting the torso with a mixture of Scarlet Red and White, but wasn't too keen on it, so I covered it with another base coat. I'm also not too happy with using the Hull Red for shading on the torso as it seems too warm a color for me. I might try giving it a blue wash and see if that helps.

Paints used so far (all Vallejo Model Air unless otherwise noted):

Torso: Scarlet Red (base), Hull Red/Scarlett Red mix (shade)
    Legs/Head: USAF Light Grey (base), USAF Light Grey/Medium grey mix (shade)
    Jetpack: Dark Blue Grey (base), Dark Blue Grey/Medium Grey/USAF light grey mix (highlight), Hull Red (thruster interior base)