Welcome to the Gundam Forums.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Craft paints

Craft paints

I had a question on these paints. I tried using them to paint a kit, however, it turned my plastic model into a wooden model. It literally gave it a finish like it was painted on wood or something Is there any techniques I can use, or any products I can mix with these to make them a bit more vibrant and realistic, like model paints?

Here's a picture. See how it has a grainy finish?

Re: Craft paints

Must have a heavy particulate count. (I think that's the right term.) As in, the paint particles are large, leading to a rough finish. If it's a heavy coat, you might be able to smooth it with some fine grit sandpaper. Also, try thinning the craft paints with water next time. I use them for figure painting, and it works out a lot better that way, even though I'm no expert.
    "It's not a mistake...it's BATTLE DAMAGE!"
    Plamobot's build threadPlamobot's trade thread

Administrator

Eww, that's not a very good affect. Having never used any of these paints, I really don't anything about them. But, how thin are they? Maybe thinning them a bit might help? I'm guessing they are water based, so they might be rather thin already.
    "Born to lose, Live to win" - Lemmy Kilmister
    https://fb.me/ThWalkersMechHangar

Quote Originally Posted by Plamobot View Post
    Must have a heavy particulate count. (I think that's the right term.) As in, the paint particles are large, leading to a rough finish. If it's a heavy coat, you might be able to smooth it with some fine grit sandpaper. Also, try thinning the craft paints with water next time. I use them for figure painting, and it works out a lot better that way, even though I'm no expert.