Welcome to the Gundam Forums.

First gundam model tips

hello gundam lovers
    i am about to receive my first gunpla kit wich is the mg red frame astray ( for the people who has this kit, is it a good/dificult kit?)
    and i have some questions
    can anyone tell me whats the difference in and this
    both are from mr hobby and both are flat...?
    and also for the decals do i need to rub some substance on the plastic before applying them? (so it make it look like its painted on the plastic)
    if so wich one you use and is it good?
    thanks in advance!

Hello!

I'll try to answer as best I can. I'm just beginning with paints and topcoats and what not.

Mr Topcoat is acrylic based and Mr Super Clear is lacquer based. What that means is that Mr Topcoat can be put on top of any other type of paint without worry. you won't get the same quality of topcoat that you will with Mr Super Clear, but there's no problems using it. Mr Super Clear, if not used carefully, may damage acrylic paints, but gives a better looking coat.

You do not need any sort of solutions for the dry transfer decals that come with most gunpla kits. They don't look "painted on" at first, but after a clear or flat coat they look pretty good. If you're using water slides, you may want to look into some Mr Mark Setter and Mr Mark Softener. The Mark Setter is like an adhesive that helps keep the water slide on the part, and the softener is used to make the decal conform to whatever shape the plastic is and also makes the water slide look more "painted on".

I am currently living in a room with a moose.
    Does any one know if the testors dullcoat works as a topcoat?