PDA

View Full Version : project #1: SD Sazabi

mechbasket
October 23, 2012, 12:41 AM
Hey everyone,

I'm new to model building and gunpla. So I decided to build a little inexpensive SD Sazabi to practice and make some mistakes on. ;)

So far I've assembled the pieces together. I got rid of some seam lines with tamiya extra thin cement and super glue. I've primed the main parts (head, arms, footsies [this thing has no feet :lol:]) and already painted them. Here are some pics.

mechbasket
October 23, 2012, 12:50 AM
By the way, I do not own an airbrush (yet :p) so all my work is hand brushed.

Painting the visor black was a bit tricky. I didn't want to make a mistake so I cut tiny pieces of masking tape and outlined the visor to prevent painting over my previous hard work.

Looks pretty good if I do say so myself.

mechbasket
October 23, 2012, 1:00 AM
Had a little problem with my coats drying up very chalky, and dusty looking. :o

But with some encouragement :) and help from the community the problem was fixed. :D Please refer to http://www.gundamforums.com/showthread.php/8583-paint-job-drying-a-little-chalky for details on how it was fixed.

mechbasket
October 29, 2012, 12:21 AM
Haven't had much time to work on this but I've painted the pipes yellow on the torso. I used 3M masking tape but had some paint seep under it. To correct I simply added another coat of my red + black. It's coming along. :p

For the front I used tamiya acrylic yellow with tamiya acrylic thinner. Flowed pretty well, but dried too fast in my paint tray. Also, it looked a bit thick.

For the back I used the same yellow but thinned it with Windex. (read some where that it was a good thinner for airbrushing and paint brushing) Oh man! :eek: My paint did not dry out as fast (which was good), but it was a little too thin which resulted in more coats.