PDA

View Full Version : paint job drying a little chalky

mechbasket
October 21, 2012, 12:26 AM
Hello builders,

I have a problem with my paint job :???: . But first let me explain what I've been doing and what I use.

I just started painting an SD MSN 04 Sazabi :D. I've been using Tamiya acrylic flat black and flat red to get a kinda dark red. I'm also using the Tamiya acrylic thinner. Since I don't own an airbrush, I've been hand brushing my coats. The problem is that I've began to notice my paint is drying somewhat chalky with brush streaks.

I've uploaded some photos. Can someone help me understand what's going on and how to fix it? (i couldnt find if this has been answered before. If it has could someone please direct me to that post?) 3720

Thnks for what ever guidance you can give.

Dlinker
October 21, 2012, 1:39 AM
Too much thinner, perhaps? How many coats did these sample pieces have?

mechbasket
October 21, 2012, 1:57 AM
I'm trying to get the hang of thinning my paints, so I may have added more thinner than necessary. Each piece has about 5-7 coats, I think.

Pitchdark
October 21, 2012, 4:41 AM
I think you may not be allowing the paint to dry enough before adding another coat and are basically stripping one coat when you try to add another.

mechbasket
October 21, 2012, 11:04 AM
Thank you guys for the help. :D

In some cases I give the coat a few days to dry and in others maybe 10 to 15 minutes. Is the 10 to 15 enough wait?

I forgot to mention that I mist/spray my paint tray with 50% isopropyl to keep it from drying too fast in extended painting sessions. Do you guys think that's what's causing the chalky finish?

Dlinker
October 21, 2012, 2:47 PM