PDA

View Full Version : Choosing a decent Freedom kit.

Lights
April 23, 2012, 10:07 PM
So I'm looking to buy & paint/detail a Freedom kit. 3 or 4 years ago I purchased and built the MG Freedom and to date it's been my favorite model. I didn't go hard on gundam models then, I dug the old thing up in my room and it's no longer in the best condition haha.

Now I want to complete one in its entirety but I'm having some trouble choosing. I was considering just getting another MG kit but now I'm looking into the RG kit. The bit scale 1/60 (not PG) didn't seem detailed enough so Im not interested in that one. There is also the full burst mode kit -__-

The RG seems really nice but it's only 1/144, I'm looking for a 1/100 as I'm new to panel lining so it would be easier. The Freedom gundam has quite the nostalgic hold on me, enticing me since I was 15 staying up to watch adult swim :p so I don't mind spending a bit more for a better kit. Also I have a busy work shedule so it's going to take me a few months to finish it :|

So I'd love to hear about expenices with any of the Freedom kits, and also how long it took you to complete it. If you have some pictures youd like to post feel free to do that aswell. As of right now I'm doing some "tests" wih an on Saviour 1/100 to get the whole process down before I work on a fresh kit.

Joe
April 23, 2012, 10:13 PM
The Full Burst is actually the STRIKE Freedom, just so you are aware. Didn't want you buying something you weren't looking for. The RG is amazing if you don't mind tiny moving parts that may break if mishandled. If that's not your cup of tea, and you MUST go 1/100 scale, you only have the old No Grade 1/100, the MG (which you have) or the Extra Finish MG, which is the same thing as the normal one but has a shiny paint job applied to it.

Now, if you wanted to include the Strike Freedom, you'll have a few more choices in the MG department. Also, to note, the PG is the Strike Freedom, not the Freedom.

Lights